Children's Book Previews


Previous
Next

The Rabbit Listened , by Cori Doerrfeld
   
A universal, deeply moving exploration of grief and empathy

With its spare, poignant text and irresistibly sweet illustrations, The Rabbit Listened is a tender meditation on loss.

When something terrible happens, Taylor doesn't know where to turn. All the animals are sure they have the answer. The chicken wants to talk it out, but Taylor doesn't feel like chatting. The bear thinks Taylor should get angry, but that's not quite right either. One by one, the animals try to tell Taylor how to process this loss, and one by one they fail. Then the rabbit arrives. All the rabbit does is listen, which is just what Taylor needs. 

Whether read in the wake of tragedy or as a primer for comforting others, this is a deeply moving and unforgettable story sure to soothe heartache of all sizes.



Pancakes in Pajamas , by Frank Asch
   
A pajama-wearing Baby Bear eats a delicious stack of pancakes in this sweet picture book from celebrated and award-winning author and illustrator Frank Asch.

What better way for Baby Bear, Momma Bear, and Poppa Bear to spend the day together than wearing their pajamas and eating pancakes? But it’s not just pancakes for breakfast! Once they finish eating, reading, playing board games, and napping, the three pajama-wearing bears decide to go to the park, ride bikes, and have a pancake dinner! The silliness continues when the Bears host a pancake and pajama party for the whole town.

Frank Asch’s newest Baby Bear adventure is sure to delight his legions of devoted fans.



The 78-Storey Treehouse , by Andy Griffiths
   

New York Times bestselling author Andy Griffiths invites readers to come hang out with him and his friend Terry in their 78-Story Treehouse―the sixth book in the illustrated chapter book series filled with Andy and Terry's signature slapstick humor!

Andy and Terry live in a 78-story treehouse. (It used to be a 65-story treehouse, but they just keep building more levels!) It has a drive-thru car wash, a courtroom with a robot judge called Edward Gavelhead, a scribbletorium, a combining machine, an ALL-BALL sports stadium, a high-security potato chip storage facility, and an open-air movie theatre with a super-giant screen . . . which is a very useful thing to have now that Terry’s going to be a big-shot movie star!

After Andy gets cut out of the movie, he and Terry have a big fight and decide they don’t want to be best friends anymore. But with a herd of sneaky spy cows out to steal all their story ideas, can Andy and Terry make up before it’s too late?




Rodent Rascals , by Roxie Munro
   
What is the smallest rodent in the world? What is the biggest? How long can rodents live? How do they find mates? In this wonderfully detailed new book from an award-winning author, life-sized illustrations of rodent species from around the world accompany simple, thorough text describing their life cycles, sizes, habitats, and ranges. From ground hogs to guinea pigs and pygmy jerboas to capybaras, kids will learn all about the rascally rodents who share our world!


Petra , by Marianna Coppo
   
The humorous adventures of an irresistible little rock who finds herself in constantly changing circumstances, Petra is a picture book that celebrates the power of perspective and believing in yourself.

Petra is a little rock who believes she is a mighty mountain . . . until a dog fetches her for its owner, and she is tossed into a bird's nest. A mountain? No, Petra is now an egg! An egg of the world in a world of possibility. Until she's flung into a pond, and becomes an amazing island . . . and, eventually, a little girl's pet rock. What will she be tomorrow? Who knows? But she's a rock, and this is how she rolls!



Nobody's Duck , by Mary Sullivan
   
When a duck mysteriously arrives on an alligator’s lawn, they set off to discover just who the duck belongs to. From the library to skydiving, from exasperation to laughter, the two make an unexpected discovery about friendship.
 
Readers will delight in this odd couple’s wacky adventures that feature the signature wit and ingenuity of Geisel Honor winner Mary Sullivan. Like its predecessors Ball, Treat, and Frankie, Nobody’s Duck has humor and heart in spades (and quacks). 



All the Animals Where I Live , by Philip C. Stead
   

The author used to live in the busy city where there were buses and trains, and people waiting for buses and trains.

Now he lives in the country and jubilantly takes us on a tour of his home, pointing out all the animals that share his space. There are stuffed bears and quilted chickens. His dog Wednesday watches cranes, frogs, and dragonflies live their lives. Coyotes and chipmunks come and go, and the world around where he lives is full of life, until winter comes, and there is nothing but snow.

Uniquely structured, All the Animals Where I Live is a picture book from Philip C. Stead, one of our most innovative author-illustrators, that is a meditation on life and moments big and small that shape our individual worlds.




A Hippy-Hoppy Toad , by Peggy Archer
   
From the illustrator of the award-winning Sophie's Squash comes a rollicking read-aloud featuring a very tiny toad who gets displaced as animals--and humans--brush past him on the road.

In the middle of a puddle
in the middle of a road
on a teeter-totter twig
sat a teeny-tiny toad. 
Snap! went the twig! 
Up went the toad! 
And he landed on a tree 
by the side of the road.

It's hard to be a tiny toad minding your own business on a twig. First a bird pecks at him. . . . Then a bee buzzes. . . . Then a dog barks . . . and so on. And each time the toad is surprised by a buzz or a woof (or the toe of a sneaker!), he hops to a new location farther down the road. With fun sounds, clever rhymes, and an irresistible rhythm, this is the perfect story for sharing one-on-one or in a group.



Stick Dog Crashes a Party , by Tom Watson
   

Perfect for fans of Big Nate, Diary of a Wimpy Kid, and the previous Stick Dog books, Tom Watson’s hilarious series continues with Stick Dog Crashes a Party—a festive adventure complete with cake, ribs, fireworks, and very special guests!

IT’S TIME TO PARTY—STICK DOG STYLE!

Stick Dog and his hungry pals have found plenty of tasty treats at Picasso Park before. But it’s never looked like it does on this dark, dark night. Strings of white lights, colorful fireworks, and an endless buffet of amazing food have transformed the park into a food-snatching wonderland.

There’s a party going on, and Stick Dog, Mutt, Poo-Poo, Stripes, and Karen are ready to crash it. But how will they do it?

It will take a top-notch strategy, some good luck, and a little help from two charming cats to complete their mission. It’s another smart, hilarious romp for Stick Dog and his team of strays.



Previous
Next

What is the World Cup , by Bonnie Bader
   
GOOOAAAAAL! Get ready for a front-row seat at the world's most-watched sporting event--the World Cup.

Every four years, thirty-two of the best men's soccer teams from across the globe compete for the title of FIFA World Cup winner. Over one billion people tuned in worldwide to watch the final game of the 2014 competition, making the World Cup the most widely viewed sporting event in the world, exceeding even the Summer Olympics! This book takes a look back at what has changed since the first tournament in 1930 and what lies ahead for the most popular sport in the world.



Just Joking Sports , by National Geographic
   
The newest book in the popular Just Joking series delivers 300 sports-themed laugh-out-loud knock-knocks, question-and-answer jokes, tongue twisters, and more! Another surefire winner and a great intro for newcomers to the series, sports fans, or avid Just Joking fans.

Calling all sports fans! This collectible little book is packed with hundreds of silly, kid-friendly sports jokes paired with photos of laughing animals and funny people. It's a hilarious party-starter or quiet time entertainer, perfect to read alone or aloud with friends and family. It's also a great book to toss into a backpack to share at school or camp.



Astronaut, Aquanaut , by Jennifer Swanson
   
Journey from the deepest trenches in the oceans to the farthest humans have ventured into space and learn what it takes to explore the extremes. You might just be surprised by how similar the domains of ASTRONAUTS and AQUANAUTS really are.

Space and the ocean. If you don't think they go together, think again! Both deep-sea and space explorers have to worry about pressure, temperature, climate, and most importantly, how to survive in a remote and hostile environment. Join us on an amazing journey as we go up in space with astronauts and dive deep down in the ocean with aquanauts to explore the far-off places of our planet and the solar system. 

With a strong tie into STEM topics--such as making connections, making comparisons, and recognizing patterns across content areas--readers will discover the amazing science and incredible innovations that allow humans (and sometimes only machines) to survive in these harsh environments.



Solve This! , by Joan Marie Galat
   
From the first wheel to the International Space Station, the miracles of engineering are all around us. Think cars, bridges, skyscrapers, and yes – even bubble wrap! Engineers dream up new ideas and bring them to life while figuring out creative solutions to problems they encounter along the way. But how do they do it? Find out in Solve This!
 
In this fun book, kids are confronted with wacky scenarios like this one: You're playing with your little sister when a vulture swoops down and grabs her favorite teddy bear. Mid-flight, the vulture realizes it doesn't care for the taste of fake fur and drops it to the ground. But now the plushie is on the other side of a raging river. How do you stop your sister from crying, stay safe, and save the day? Each challenge invites kids to think creatively to problem solve. Then they can see how different National Geographic explorers tackled the challenge. One of the big lessons? There's often more than one solution!



What Was the Titanic , by Stephanie Sabol
   
For more than 100 years, people have been captivated by the disastrous sinking of the Titanic that claimed over 1,500 lives. Now young readers can find out why the great ship went down and how it was discovered seventy-five years later.

At 2:20 a.m. on April 15, 1912, the Royal Mail Steamer Titanic,the largest passenger steamship of this time, met its catastrophic end after crashing into an iceberg. Of the 2,240 passengers and crew onboard, only 705 survived. More than 100 years later, today's readers will be intrigued by the mystery that surrounds this ship that was originally labeled "unsinkable."



Joan Proctor Dragon Doctor , by Patricia Valdez
   
For fans of Ada Twist: Scientist comes a fascinating picture book biography of a pioneering female scientist--who loved reptiles!

Back in the days of long skirts and afternoon teas, young Joan Procter entertained the most unusual party guests: slithery and scaly ones, who turned over teacups and crawled past the crumpets.... While other girls played with dolls, Joan preferred the company of reptiles. She carried her favorite lizard with her everywhere--she even brought a crocodile to school!

When Joan grew older, she became the Curator of Reptiles at the British Museum. She went on to design the Reptile House at the London Zoo, including a home for the rumored-to-be-vicious komodo dragons. There, just like when she was a little girl, Joan hosted children's tea parties--with her komodo dragon as the guest of honor.

With a lively text and vibrant illustrations, scientist and writer Patricia Valdez and illustrator Felicita Sala bring to life Joan Procter's inspiring story of passion and determination.