Access Electronic Reference Databases & Content
Electronic Resources are primarily provided by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners and to a lesser extent our consortium C/W MARS. For a graphical overview of the Gale Databases listed below, please click here. View a full list of the Gale Databases here. This page will serve as a portal with an annotated listing of databases that users have access to.
Please also visit the library's online catalog via C/W MARS to search for materials, and visit the C/W MARS Overdrive site for electronic books than you can check out with a valid library card. Our consortium is also a fully partipating member of the Commonwealth eBook Collections. Please report any errors to email@example.com
General Resources & eBooks
* requires library card number and/or pin
* NEW! Freegal Music - Freegal® is a free music service from your library. All you need is your library card number and your PIN. Freegal offers access to about 9 million songs, including Sony Music’s catalog of legendary artists, and over 15,000 music videos. There is no software to download, and there are no digital rights management (DRM) restrictions.
* NEW! Mango Languages - an online language-learning system, Mango offers access to 60 foreign language courses and 17 English courses taught completely in the user’s native language. Mango can be accessed at the library, remotely, or even on-the-go with apps for iPhone®, Android™, Kindle® and Nook®. https://connect.mangolanguages.com/southborough/start
* NEW! ReferenceUSA - provides addresses, sales information, executives, for over 11 million U.S. Now includes job listings. Also includes an electronic version of the U.S. Standard White Pages. http://www.referenceusa.com/
* America's News: Massachusetts Newspapers - Search current and archived coverage of issues, events, people, government, sports and more with the largest collection of full-text U.S. newspapers. Includes staff-written articles, obituaries, editorials, announcements, real estate and other sections. This Newsbank resource is available due to a grant partnership between the Massachusetts Library System and the Shrewsbury Library.
Axis 360 - Axis 360 gives library and school users the ability to discover and borrow ebooks and/or audiobooks with ease. Designed for mobile users of the Axis 360 digital media library, the Axis 360 app lets you access your library or school’s digital collection and check out materials in a user interface optimized for your device.
Biblioboard Library - BiblioBoard has millions of pages of curated primary source content, unlimited multi-user access and streaming audio and video. We also have a growing library of traditional publisher content including, fiction, graphic novels, comics, children’s books, university press books and much more.
The Boston Globe - This publication's detailed indexing helps users quickly find the news information they need. Each issue is indexed thoroughly, so they have access to not only top news stories but also the information contained on the various sections of the paper. The indexing covers not only complete bibliographic information but also companies, people, products, etc.
Commonwealth eBook Collections - provided by the Massachusetts Library System, this is the landing information page for Axis 360, Biblioboard Library, and EBL. You can search a full catalog of all ebook offerings through CEC, and check the main page periodically for monthly changes and new electronic book additions.
EBook Library - Ebook Library (EBL) is a web-based ebook lending platform which is capable of delivering Ebook Corporation's rapidly expanding catalogue of ebooks to academic and research libraries. In the dropdown list, select "C/W MARS" and log in with your library card number and PIN.
* Novelist Plus - a comprehensive online readers’ advisory tool. Patrons can search among hundreds of thousands of popular fiction titles, and also retrieve author read-alikes, book lists, book discussion guides and more.
Britannica Library Suite - The Encyclopædia Britannica, Compton's by Britannica, Britannica Elementary Encyclopedia, and Britannica Concise Encyclopedia each covering the research needs of a different age group. Also included are full-text magazine articles, web sites that have been reviewed and verified by Britannica editors, a homework help section for students, a world atlas, Merriam-Webster dictionaries and thesauri for children and adults, a Spanish-English dictionary, video and audio content, daily content updates, and more.
Britannica Library : Reference Center - Includes the encyclopedia, world atlas, timelines, dictionaries, quotations, and more for high school students and adults.
Britannica Library : Young Adults - The Encyclopaedia Britannica enhanced with a wealth of research tools, history highlights, and current news for middle and high school students.
Britannica Library : Children - The Compton's Encyclopedia and Britannica Elementary Encyclopedia enhanced with a wealth of other age-appropriate materials for younger students and children.
Online School Edition - Elementary, Middle and High School Editions of encyclopedias as well as online learning materials that have been developed by teachers and curriculum experts that are designed for all levels of learning from elementary school through high school and translation for over 50 languages. A Lesson Plan Builder helps create interactive activities for small and large groups.
Elementary School Edition - The Elementary Encyclopaedia Britannica enhanced with research tools, history highlights, and current news for elementary school students and teachers. Includes a Lesson Plan Builder to create interactive activities for small and large groups.
Middle School Edition - The Encyclopaedia Britannica enhanced with research tools, history highlights, and current news for middle school students and teachers. Includes a Lesson Plan Builder to create interactive activities for small and large groups.
High School Edition - The Encyclopaedia Britannica enhanced with research tools, history highlights, and current news for high school students and teachers. Includes a Lesson Plan Builder to create interactive activities for small and large groups.
Learning Zone - Interactive learning resources that give early learners enjoyable, engaging, and developmentally appropriate activities to help grow their minds. This is designed specifically for the needs of ages 4 to 7 or Grade Level PreK-5. Includes atlas, art activities, games and learning materials, audio and video, vocabulary builders, and more.
Spanish Reference Center - Reference collection for ages 6-12 and another for the high school and college ages. Separate home pages for each level.
Spanish Edition: Escolar (K-8) - Elementary Spanish encyclopedia for students beginning to explore the Spanish language.
Spanish Edition: Moderna (9-12) - Spanish encyclopedia for bilingual students as well as native Spanish speakers.
Annals of American History - Primary sources including speeches, poems, images, eyewitness accounts of important historical events, and multimedia organized by timeline.
World Data Analyst - Current and historical country and world statistics that can be used for historical and cross-national comparisons. This resource allows users to create tables, charts, and export the information to a spreadsheet.return to top
Agriculture Collection - with broad coverage of agriculture and its related fields, this collection provides a comprehensive view of this growing body of knowledge. Comprised of hundreds of journals and magazines, researchers will have access to current and authoritative content that spans the industry -- from practical aspects of farming to cutting edge scientific research in horticulture.
Business Economics and Theory - with a strong emphasis on titles covered in the EconLit database, this collection provides academic journals and magazines focusing on topics in economics. Perfect for business classes, users will find hundreds of full-text journals to support their research.
Communications and Mass Media Collection - from marketing professionals to students studying for advanced degrees in linguistic theory, this collection provides current and accurate information in full-text from journals focused on all aspects of the communications field. Key subjects covered include: advertising and public relations, literature and writing, linguistics, and many more.
Diversity Studies Collection - a must-have for social science, history and liberal arts coursework, this collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community. This set includes more than 150 journals.
Fine Arts and Music Collection - with hundreds of full-text magazines and journals covered in databases such as the Wilson Art Index and RILM, this collection will provide your students with resources to support research in areas such as drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.
Gender Studies Collection - this collection of journals aims to provide balanced coverage of this significant aspect of our culture, covering such topics as gender studies, family and marital issues, health aspects, and many more.
General Science Collection - a collection of over 1,000 peer-reviewed journals, providing researchers with the information needed to stay current on the latest scientific developments.
Home Improvement Collection - even the smallest home improvement project can be daunting: with this collection of home improvement focused titles, hobbyists and professional carpenters alike will immediately put their projects on a more solid foundation. Coverage includes such topics as architectural techniques, tool and material selection, zoning requirements, and many more.
Information Science and Library Issues Collection - this collection, comprised of content from more than 100 leading industry journals, provides current and accurate information for this fast-moving field. Information professionals and other knowledge workers from the research specialist to the information architect will find appropriate and useful information in their areas of expertise, including such topics as information infrastructure, data processing techniques, metadata architectures, and more.
Insurance & Liability Collection - protection of assets is a concern for all: from the individual property owner to the multinational corporation, all have a vested interest in ensuring the retention of their assets, be it physical or intellectual. This collection, of journals, takes a broad view of this multimillion dollar industry, covering such topics as labor relations, mortgage banking, legal issues, and more.
Military and Intelligence Database Collection - both the historian and reporter on the frontline will find useful information in this collection, composed of content from over 400 journals, which covers all aspects of the past and current state of military affairs. Key subjects covered include: socioeconomic effects of war, governmental policies, the structure of armed forces, and many more.
Pop Culture Collection - it's all around us and influences our lives every day. This collection provides useful information for any researcher in a social science, history, art or liberal arts course. This collection is made up of more than 100 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals.
Popular Magazines - includes more than 1,000 of the most searched magazines across our InfoTrac products. All the titles were selected based on actual publication searches performed by library patrons. This database is 100% full text and includes over 600 titles recommended by Bowker's "Magazines for Libraries".
Psychology Collection - this collection gives individuals a basic understanding of the study of the mind, emotions and how the human mind develops and diminishes over time. Researchers will have access to hundreds of subject-appropriate full-text periodicals - many cited in the PsycINFO index.
Religion & Philosophy Collection - why do some people believe in Heaven? Is it fear, hope, upbringing or blind faith? Users of this collection can research different religions, philosophies and how they impact our daily lives.
Small Business Collection - perfect for business schools and entrepreneurs, this compilation provides insights, tips, strategies and success stories. Users will find hundreds of full text subject-appropriate periodicals.
U.S. History Collection - as any historian will state, the study of history is as much about the present as the past: to that end, this collection provides well-rounded coverage of both the current thinking and events in US History, as well as scholarly work being established in the field. This compilation of journals provides robust and balanced coverage of this field, useful both to the novice historian as well as to the advanced academic researcher.
War & Terrorism Collection - a definitive periodical collection of hand selected titles for analysts, risk management professionals and students of military science, history, social science.
World History Collection - as any historian will state, the study of history is as much about the present as the past: to that end, this collection provides well-rounded coverage of both the current thinking and events in World History, as well as scholarly work being established in the field. This compilation of journals provides robust and balanced coverage of this field, useful both to the novice historian as well as to the advanced academic researcher.
provided by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners
Academic OneFile - Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily.
General OneFile - A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.
Biography in Context - Provides biographical information on 600,000+ people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines.
Books and Authors - Looking for a good book, but not sure where to start? WHO WHAT WHERE WHEN lets you browse by Character, Subject, Location and Time Period, and get a visual representation of your matching books.
Business Insights: Essentials - Detailed company and industry profiles including SWOT reports, market share reports, and financial reports. Thousands of company histories and industry essays from Gale's core business collection. Deep research coverage with scholarly journals, business news, and more.
Criminal Justice Collection - Whether studying to become a lawyer or law enforcement officer, paralegal, or for a career in Homeland Security, this collection rises to the challenge. Users will have access to hundreds of full-text journals. The database contains 6,785,458 articles updated as recently as of 2015. All articles have been published between 1980 and 2015.
Educator's Reference Complete - a selection of academic journals, hundreds of full-text reports, and many premier reference sources. Included content focuses on educational principles, child development and psychology, and best practices in education. Majority of the full-text titles included are also found in the ERIC database. The database is updated daily and provides 24-hour access from school or home.
Environmental Studies and Policy Collection - providing robust coverage of the field of environmental issues and policy, this collection, which includes magazines and academic journals, provides instant access to the multiple viewpoints of this volatile field of study, including perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, as well as corporate interests.Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) - an online library of reference titles for multi-disciplinary research, including texts related to American and world history, biography, health, arts, business, travel, religion, and multicultural studies. Individual GVRL titles via the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners.
Expanded Academic ASAP - From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic disciplines. Access scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers - many with full text and images!
Gardening, Landscape and Horticulture Collection - Farmers, landscape architects, and biotechnologists alike will have their information appetites sated with this collection of journals focused specifically on key issues in gardening, landscaping, and other areas of horticulture. A fertile and growing collection, this collection includes content relating to both the practical aspects as well as the scientific theory of horticulture studies.
General Reference Center Gold - a general interest database that integrates a variety of sources - newspapers, reference books, magazines, and trade publications. Find articles on current events, popular culture, business and industry trends, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more.
Global Issues in Context - offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected, highly relevant sources for analysis of social, political, military, economic, environmental, health, and cultural issues. Each of these gateway pages includes an overview, unique "perspectives" articles written by local experts, reference, periodical, primary source and statistical information. Rich multimedia - including podcasts, video, and interactive graphs - enhance each portal. Use Browse Issues and Topics, Country Finder, Basic Search or Advanced Search to explore the database.
Health and Wellness Resource Center - Provides instant access to carefully compiled and trusted medical reference materials. Includes nearly 400 health/medical journals, numerous reference volumes, over 700 health videos from partner Healthology, Inc., hundreds of pamphlets and health-related articles from 2,200 general interest publications in addition to a broad collection of Gale reference titles. Material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only.
Health Reference Center Academic - Multi-source database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources in InfoTrac's award-winning Health Reference Center. All in a single, easy-to-use database, the material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.Hospitality, Tourism and Leisure Collection - With current and relevant content from industry journals, travel guides and magazines this collection provides well-rounded coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism field, while also allowing for focused study of specialized aspects of the industry - including cultural aspects of travel, leisure activities, economic aspects of tourism, and more.
Kids InfoBits - a child-friendly database which searches across reference books and periodicals covering history, current events, sports, government, and people.
Literature Resource Center - Features information on literary figures from all time periods in such genres as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism.
Massachusetts History Online - Contains full-text articles gathered from almost 50 sources that directly relate to MA history.
The New York Times - Full-text articles from The New York Times. Index coverage from January 1, 1965. Full-text coverage from January 1, 1985.
Nursing and Allied Health Collection - All aspects of the Nursing profession -- from direct patient care to health care administration -- are covered. This collection's current and authoritative content will be of use to both professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.Nursing Resource Center - Designed for nursing students, the Nursing Resource Center brings together in an easy-to-use interface disease and drug overviews, care plans, relevant journal results and animated anatomy and physiology diagrams to complement the core encyclopedia texts. The information is written in accessible language for students completing class assignments and preparing for clinicals as they learn how to care for and treat patients. Search results are returned in tabs that correspond to steps in the nursing process.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context - contains nearly 5,000 current social topics in the forms of primary source documents, statistics, websites and multimedia.
Physical Therapy & Sports Medicine Collection - Both researcher and practitioner alike will find relevant, authoritative content in this collection, which includes over 100 titles covering the fields of physical therapy and sports medicine. Covering a wide spectrum of information, researchers will have access to a diverse, but focused set of topics in the field, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research theses, and many more.Science In Context - an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
U.S. History in Context - Variety of historical data from primary sources and reference documents. Includes photographs, illustrations, and maps.
World History In Context - From antiquity to the present day, search a broad collection of scholarly analysis and full-text periodicals, reference works and primary documents that cover the events, movements, and individuals that have shaped world history.
Vocations & Careers Collection - Finding the right career can be a daunting and high stakes task: finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career are all topics covered by this collection, providing current and applicable content for all vocational milestones. Offering content from nearly 400 journals, this collection provides content from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.